xboxbride

One day, I fell in love… with the Xbox logo.

In Product on October 26, 2008 at 6:00 pm

I am a little bit of a fan of fashion, and I work in the world of media.  This means, I work among style and design gurus in 90% of my life.  I really love beautiful things.

As I came to get over the strange workings of my fiance’s television, multiple Xboxes, controllers everywhere and ugly t-shirts handed out at product launches (go to the first post to find out how this all started), I realized beauty was staring me in the face every day.

It’s really a thing of beauty, this symbol of the Xbox 360… and it became one of my favorite logos in the corporate world.

Here’s why:

1. The sphere is the world of Xbox – and the world that you can enter when you sign on.

2. The green X splices into the world, cutting a path of entry to go deep and explore the depths of your newest adventure.

3. The light emanating from the green X illuminates the path to an unknown place, indicating mystery and hidden treasure.

4. The X splices communicate – without being obvious – the action of battle, like a sword fight that has won you the right to entire new worlds, or as if the X is telling you that you’ve won the right to play.

5. And the final, sweet touch… when you log on and the ball gives way to a horizon… shaped in a way that tells you there’s something on the other side.

I began to wonder… is this new love affair and newfound respect for the 360 logo beckoning me to find out what’s on the other side?  My earlier resistance to remote controls, too many controllers, disc drives I did not understand… was giving way to curiosity.

Leave a Reply

