xboxbride

Top Chef, etc… A drain on romance?

In Product, relationship, TV watching on October 24, 2009 at 8:59 pm

I am just loving all the content on Zune VideoMarketplace.  No more trips to the video store, and I am not waiting for Netflix to send me the latest DVD.

Yet, with so much video on demand, a newlywed had to wonder.  Was TV – the giant physical television and the role of TV in our household – sucking us into suburban married life?  We used to go dancing a lot; I used to eat out at restaurants a lot. What started as a money saving move after a terrible recession year and paying for our wedding/honeymoon had turned into a habit.   And, I began to question whether this is something that happens to a lot of married couples.

I had heard and read about married couples who “disappear”… married couples who are simply happy sitting on the couch and watching a movie together.  Was this the new me?   I resisted a little, but at the same time, I was pretty excited to discover Top Chef seasons on Zune VideoMarketplace.

And none of this seemed to bother my new husband.

A little over a  year ago, I fell in love with my husband.  Shortly afterward, I fell in love with the Xbox logo for all that it promised.  Is my new love for all the Xbox Live content-on-demand like a bad, threatening flirtation that would lead to a marriage without romance?

Leave a Reply

