xboxbride

Two Ideas for Dance Central in the Name of Health

In dance, Kinect, Product, workout on November 14, 2010 at 4:35 pm

I don’t know about you, but I have a weakness for french fries.

One of the most appealing things about Kinect’s Dance Central is the calorie burn, which gives me an excuse to indulge every now and then. It’s harder to work it off as we get older… are you with me here?

So Dance Central, I’ve discovered, after working my butt off (Post: Young MC Made Me Sweat) to be in the Top 10 for Bust A Move (Post: No Way! I’m #6), has a WORKOUT MODE, with a calorie counter that earns you achievements, the more you work out.  Aside from the fact that I would have liked to know how much I’ve burned, I probably would have gotten another achievement by now.

So here’s my suggestion for Dance Central: create a feature that suggest to someone who’s been dancing awhile – or dancing on “hard” (the highest level) – to turn on workout mode. Something like a pop up notification:  “Would you like to turn on Workout Mode?”  with of their simple arrows which guide you to more info about this.  My answer would be: YES, DUH.

Anyway, now that you know this, turn on workout mode, earn an achievement and burn some calories.  Maybe save the fries for another time.

  1. I like this suggestion. My further suggestion is a marathon mode. One where you can dance till you drop! I, likely, would drop pretty darn fast. But…imagine how many calories I could knock out, first!

  2. I believe I had an ingame notification that I unlocked workout mode (I might be wrong, though), but I don’t see it anywhere… could you tell me where to turn it on or when it is unlocked? Because I agree: Those french fries are coming to stay unless we nail those moves.

  3. Yap, thanks for asking! Works nicely, although I’m disappointed that it is far from actually counting calories. I’d have hoped it would actually treat mad hopping different from easy going, but as far as I could tell it just ticks on regardless of what I’m actually doing.

  4. Yeah, that might be frustrating. Or maybe we just FEEL like we’re burning more cals! 😀 I also wish Dance Central would give us a far higher degree of difficulty score for Hard mode (I feel like we deserve it, you know?)

Leave a Reply

