xboxbride

Why Am I So Loud? Observations About Kinect Video Chat

In dance, Dance Central, dog, family, Kinect, relationship on January 8, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Kinect Video Chat.

Now we can talk to each other, much like a split-screen in a newscast – one person/several people in one box talking to another person/group, or an extension of the web cam experience.  Doesn’t seem super futuristic, but nonetheless, I heard about this and thought it might be cool to do it through Kinect.  I wondered how well it would work.   I tried it out with two parties in my Xbox Live crew:  my friend, a former TV news producer, and my brother, a computer nerd and electrical engineer.   Just for the record, these are smart people with a knack for communications technology (and then there’s me).

First attempt with my friend, the former TV producer, and here are my observations:

  • It was not intuitive where to go.  She and I had to get on the phone to troubleshoot how we accepted each others’ requests to do Video Kinect.
  • Just for the record, when you get a pop up “toast”, you have to go to the Dashboard and check your messages.  Via messages, you can accept.  Then you can Video Kinect.
  • I would really like it if you could just say “Accept” when you get the “Toast” and Kinect does the rest for you.  This would use the voice recognition and leave none of the thinking to the user.  IMO.  (More on my early impressions of “toast” in this post: “We Were Making Out On The Couch…”)

Second attempt, with my brother and his family.

  • Same thing, only he had been trying to figure out a bunch of things, such as how to add friends, for awhile, before we had to get on the phone.
  • Richard was with me, so he talked them through it.
  • My question is this:  If you don’t have a Richard, who helps you?  Normal people need fewer steps.

That being said, when we finally Video Kinect-ed with my brother, my sister and law and my niece and nephew, I have to say it was kind of entertaining.  My niece wanted to see the dog right away, so we sat the dog up to say hi.   Then, we talked about our experiences with Dance Central.  If you don’t think this is all terribly boring, here’s a peek at our Video Kinect conversation.

You might notice that I laugh really loudly.  My mother always told me this was inappropriate, but many years later I just can’t help it.  On video though, it does make me think why AM I so much louder than everyone else? Maybe my mom should answer this random question.

  1. Lovely post XboxBride 😉
    Just this weekend (Saturday) I shared a Kinect Video with my family (Mom, Dad, Brother, Sister and Nephew) all living in another province ± 870 miles away from me.

    Our experience was similar.

    I had downloaded the Video Kinect “app” which enables one to use Video Kinect last year sometime and completely forgot about one needing this before a video chat was possible.

    My sister got all the family in the room in much anticipation of finally seeing one another to first having to download the ±130MB app.

    We had connected via Private Chat before hand as I was talking them through the process. Only a few minutes later were we set-up and ready.

    Once connected, we had a blast. My family being able to see and hear my boys was such a pleasure.
    I do agree with you, the initial interactions and steps to get to Video Kinect should be simplified a touch.

    All in all, an amazing experience had by all!

  2. Nobody I want to video chat with has Kinect. They all have old computers that have trouble with video. So, it’s often more like “Still Photo” Kinect when I am chatting with family. Lame.

Leave a Reply

